Denton DWI And DUI Attorney
Serving Denton | Cooke | Wise
Did you know that form the date of your DWI arrest, there are only 15 days in which you can request an administrative hearing for your driver’s license? Do you know what happens if you do not request such a hearing? Your license is automatically suspended. And that’s just the FIRST thing that happens when you face DWI or DUI charges in Denton, Texas or the surround area. Arrested in Wise County? Click Here.
Free Consultation – Hear All Of Your Options
A DWI conviction can come with steep penalties: driver’s license suspension, thousands of dollars in fines and jail time – even for first-time offenders. A first DWI offense can carry a 12-month jail sentence. Individuals facing driving while intoxicated charges need an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Even if it’s your first offense, a DUI/DWI conviction in the state of Texas can land you in jail for up to 180 days. If there is a minor in the car, that jail time can go up to two years! Then there are fines. For a first offense you can pay up to $2000 in fines, but again, the penalties are much worse if a child is in the car. When a child is present, your fines can be as high as $10,000.
Our Partners Have Handled Numerous DWI/DUI Cases
At The Nolter Law Firm, our attorneys have extensive experience assisting Denton, Texas, individuals with DWI charges for many decades. In fact, many of our clients have received outright dismissals, not guilty verdicts and reductions in charges. Here is a list of just a few of the types of DWI cases we have helped our clients with:
- DWI with a child passenger
- DWI Expert Witnesses
- Boating While Intoxicated (BWI)
- Driving While Intoxicated Under the Influence of Prescription Drugs
- Driving While Intoxicated Under the Influence of Illegal Drugs
- Driving While Intoxicated Under the Influence of Alcohol
- DWI Breath Test Cases
- Field Sobriety Tests
- Felony and Misdemeanor DWI Charges
- Public Intoxication
- DWI Accidents, including those where someone was hurt or killed
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- DWI Blood Warrant Test Cases
- Occupational Driver’s License
It doesn’t matter whether you had roadside test administered, if you refused them, if you were given breath or blood tests, our DWI attorneys are experienced and will know the best way to defend you. There are many possible defenses against different types of tests and how they are administered. If you feel the administering of your tests hurt your case, we can help!
Attorney Ed Nolter has learned the intricate areas of field sobriety testing to determine if improper procedures were utilized by police officers.
We have the knowledge needed to assess the legal nature of your arrest and the charges involved.
Recent Changes to DWI Laws in Texas
Deferred Probation is Now An Option For Some
- DWIs are now eligible for deferred adjudication if you are charged with a first offense class B misdemeanor DWI. This means individuals placed on deferred will not receive a conviction if they successfully complete the term of probation.
- Individuals placed on deferred probation must have an ignition interlock on any vehicle they drive during the term of probation.
- Individuals that successfully complete a term of deferred may be eligible for a non-disclosure two years following the date of completion of probation if they meet all non-disclosure requirements.
- Deferred adjudication may still be used for DWI enhancement purposes even after a non-disclosure is signed. An experienced attorney will be able to provide you advice on whether deferred is appropriate in your situation.
“Superfines” DWI Law Has Been Changed
- In 2019, the Texas Legislature ended the Driver Responsibility Program. Under that program, individuals who received DWI convictions would be subject to surcharges for up to three years.
- However, beginning September 1, 2019, the state has imposed mandatory fines for those individuals finally convicted of DWI.
- Those fines can range between $3,000 and $6,000.
We Offer Evening And Weekend Appointments
We just cannot stress enough how little time you have to do everything you need to do to protect your rights if facing one of these charges in Texas. Your time is extremely limited, so if you are facing a DUI/DWI charge – even if you are a juvenile – contact us immediately at 940-800-8025 to speak with a DWI defense attorney. You have just 15 days of total time to challenge your driver’s license suspension.
We offer free consultations. Evening and weekend appointments may be available upon request.